Chronic pain recovery
Bigger Than Pain vs Curable
Bigger Than Pain and Curable both draw on modern pain science, and both are self-management tools you use alongside clinical care. They work differently. Curable is a guided mind-body programme of lessons, audio and reflection exercises, with tools for flare-ups. Bigger Than Pain is one connected daily plan that brings pain education, nervous system regulation, guided movement across 7 body regions, flare support and tracking together. Which suits you depends on what you need.
What the two have in common
Both are grounded in pain neuroscience: the understanding that persistent pain is real, that it isn't a simple readout of damage, and that a sensitive nervous system can be calmed. Both offer support for flare-ups, and both work on your phone.
Where they differ
Lessons vs a daily plan
Curable is built around a guided programme of lessons and mind-body exercises. Bigger Than Pain is built around daily next-step guidance (Wayfinder) that adapts as your situation changes.
Movement
Bigger Than Pain includes 142 exercises with demo videos across 7 body regions, and a guided self-check where your answers shape which movements you start with. Curable's exercises are mostly reflection, relaxation, writing and somatic tracking; it doesn't publicly describe an exercise library.
Who's behind it
Curable's team includes physicians, pain psychologists and physical therapists, and it runs live expert sessions. Bigger Than Pain was built and is overseen by one practising Sports Rehabilitator with 16 years working with persistent pain.
Price
Curable's website lists an annual plan at US$15.99 a month billed annually, with 50% off the first year for new subscribers and full price after that. Viewed from Ireland the page shows about €14.25 a month, but it doesn't say which currency you're charged in. In the Irish App Store, Curable lists a monthly plan at €12.99. Bigger Than Pain is €20 a month or €200 a year. Both have a 14-day free trial. Prices checked 20 October 2026.
Which one suits you
Curable may suit you if
you're drawn to a mind-body, lesson-and-audio approach, you like reflective and writing exercises, and movement isn't your main need.
Bigger Than Pain may suit you if
you want one structured plan that connects understanding, calming your system and movement for a specific body region, with a plan for flare-ups and tracking that shows the trend over time.
An honest note
This page is written by the team behind Bigger Than Pain, so read it with that in mind. Curable is a well-regarded app, and plenty of people do well with it. We've used Curable's own published information, checked on 19 October 2026, and where it doesn't say something we've said so rather than assume.
Side by side
Bigger Than Pain
- Price
- €20 a month or €200 a year
- Free trial
- 14 days (card required); cancel anytime
- Approach
- One connected daily plan: pain education, nervous system regulation, guided movement, flare support and tracking
- Exercise and movement
- Yes: 142 exercises with demo videos across 7 body regions
- Flare-up support
- Yes: Flare Support, with 33 flare-safe exercises
- Clinician involvement
- Built and overseen by a practising Sports Rehabilitator; no 1:1 clinician sessions inside the app
- Who can get it
- Anyone, online (web app on phone, tablet or computer); built in Ireland
Curable
- Price
- Website: annual plan, US$15.99 a month billed annually, 50% off the first year for new subscribers, then full price (shown as about €14.25 from Ireland; charge currency not stated). Irish App Store: monthly €12.99; other plans listed at €99.90 and €449.99, terms not stated
- Free trial
- 14 days; 30-day money-back on web and Google Play purchases
- Approach
- Guided mind-body programme "to help you make sense of persistent pain"
- Exercise and movement
- Not publicly confirmed (its exercises are reflection, relaxation, writing and somatic tracking)
- Flare-up support
- Yes: "Flare-Up Support" quick tools
- Clinician involvement
- Live expert sessions with pain specialists; 1:1 care not publicly confirmed
- Who can get it
- Direct to consumer; web, iOS and Android
| Bigger Than Pain | Curable | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €20 a month or €200 a year | Website: annual plan, US$15.99 a month billed annually, 50% off the first year for new subscribers, then full price (shown as about €14.25 from Ireland; charge currency not stated). Irish App Store: monthly €12.99; other plans listed at €99.90 and €449.99, terms not stated |
| Free trial | 14 days (card required); cancel anytime | 14 days; 30-day money-back on web and Google Play purchases |
| Approach | One connected daily plan: pain education, nervous system regulation, guided movement, flare support and tracking | Guided mind-body programme "to help you make sense of persistent pain" |
| Exercise and movement | Yes: 142 exercises with demo videos across 7 body regions | Not publicly confirmed (its exercises are reflection, relaxation, writing and somatic tracking) |
| Flare-up support | Yes: Flare Support, with 33 flare-safe exercises | Yes: "Flare-Up Support" quick tools |
| Clinician involvement | Built and overseen by a practising Sports Rehabilitator; no 1:1 clinician sessions inside the app | Live expert sessions with pain specialists; 1:1 care not publicly confirmed |
| Who can get it | Anyone, online (web app on phone, tablet or computer); built in Ireland | Direct to consumer; web, iOS and Android |
From each company's own website, checked 19 October 2026. "Not publicly confirmed" means the company doesn't say, not that it's missing.
FAQ
Common questions
What's a good alternative to Curable?
It depends on what you want. If you'd like one daily plan that connects pain education, nervous system regulation, guided movement across 7 body regions and flare support, Bigger Than Pain is built for that. If you mainly want a self-paced course you pay for once, Pathways is another option. See our wider comparison of chronic pain apps.
How is Bigger Than Pain different from Curable?
Both use pain neuroscience. Curable is a guided mind-body programme of lessons and reflective exercises. Bigger Than Pain is a connected daily plan with a movement library across 7 body regions, flare support and tracking, built by a practising Sports Rehabilitator.
Is Curable cheaper than Bigger Than Pain?
Yes, on the prices it publishes. Curable's website lists an annual plan at US$15.99 a month billed annually, with 50% off the first year for new subscribers (about €14.25 a month when viewed from Ireland), and its monthly plan in the Irish App Store is €12.99. Bigger Than Pain is €20 a month or €200 a year. Both offer a 14-day free trial. Prices checked 20 October 2026.
Is Curable bad?
No. Curable is a well-regarded app. The best choice depends on whether you want a mind-body lesson programme or a connected daily plan with movement and flare support.
Your next step
See what may be driving your pain
Your Clarity Report is a free, personalised starting point.