Compare
Chronic pain apps compared
There's no single best chronic pain app. They take different approaches: mind-body lessons, self-paced courses, human coaching, tracking, or one connected daily plan. The right one depends on what you need, where you live and how you like to work. Here's how five you can sign up for yourself compare, using each company's own published information.

Written and reviewed by David Mc Gettigan, Sports Rehabilitator, BSc (Hons) Sports Rehabilitation
Updated 19 October 2026
Written by the team behind Bigger Than Pain, so read it with that in mind. Prices and features were checked on each company's website or app store listing on 19 October 2026 and can change; where a company doesn't say, we've written "not publicly confirmed".
At a glance
Bigger Than Pain
- Price
- €20 a month or €200 a year
- Free trial
- 14 days (card required); cancel anytime
- Approach
- One connected daily plan: pain education, nervous system regulation, guided movement, flare support and tracking
- Exercise and movement
- Yes: 142 exercises with demo videos across 7 body regions
- Flare-up support
- Yes: Flare Support, with 33 flare-safe exercises
- Clinician involvement
- Built and overseen by a practising Sports Rehabilitator; no 1:1 clinician sessions inside the app
- Who can get it
- Anyone, online (web app on phone, tablet or computer); built in Ireland
Curable
- Price
- Website: annual plan, US$15.99 a month billed annually, 50% off the first year for new subscribers, then full price (shown as about €14.25 from Ireland; charge currency not stated). Irish App Store: monthly €12.99; other plans listed at €99.90 and €449.99, terms not stated
- Free trial
- 14 days; 30-day money-back on web and Google Play purchases
- Approach
- Guided mind-body programme "to help you make sense of persistent pain"
- Exercise and movement
- Not publicly confirmed (its exercises are reflection, relaxation, writing and somatic tracking)
- Flare-up support
- Yes: "Flare-Up Support" quick tools
- Clinician involvement
- Live expert sessions with pain specialists; 1:1 care not publicly confirmed
- Who can get it
- Direct to consumer; web, iOS and Android
Pathways
- Price
- $79 listed for "access to all Pathways content forever" (currency and billing not stated)
- Free trial
- First milestone free; 14-day money-back guarantee
- Approach
- Online pain management programme: pain science, mind-body, CBT and pacing
- Exercise and movement
- Yes: physiotherapy exercises, yoga and breathing routines
- Flare-up support
- Not publicly confirmed as a named feature (has guided "SOS" breathing and relaxation)
- Clinician involvement
- Content designed by pain specialists, psychologists and physiotherapists
- Who can get it
- Direct to consumer; phone, tablet or computer
Lin Health
- Price
- From $82 a month (1-year plan) to $269 a month (USD, self-pay); some US insurance plans
- Free trial
- Not publicly confirmed; offers a money-back guarantee
- Approach
- Coaching-led programme using nervous system techniques for chronic primary pain
- Exercise and movement
- Not publicly confirmed
- Flare-up support
- Not publicly confirmed
- Clinician involvement
- Pain recovery coaches with multidisciplinary clinical guidance and a medical advisor
- Who can get it
- Mainly US (self-pay, clinician referral or insurance); outside the US not publicly confirmed
Manage My Pain
- Price
- Free download; paid plans from €5.49 to €22.99 a month (Irish App Store)
- Free trial
- Not publicly confirmed
- Approach
- Pain tracking and reports to share with your doctor, plus a pain guide and AI companion
- Exercise and movement
- Not publicly confirmed (interactive exercises in its Pain Guide)
- Flare-up support
- Not publicly confirmed
- Clinician involvement
- Built with hospitals and clinicians; direct clinician care not publicly confirmed
- Who can get it
- Direct to consumer; iOS, Android and web
| Bigger Than Pain | Curable | Pathways | Lin Health | Manage My Pain | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | €20 a month or €200 a year | Website: annual plan, US$15.99 a month billed annually, 50% off the first year for new subscribers, then full price (shown as about €14.25 from Ireland; charge currency not stated). Irish App Store: monthly €12.99; other plans listed at €99.90 and €449.99, terms not stated | $79 listed for "access to all Pathways content forever" (currency and billing not stated) | From $82 a month (1-year plan) to $269 a month (USD, self-pay); some US insurance plans | Free download; paid plans from €5.49 to €22.99 a month (Irish App Store) |
| Free trial | 14 days (card required); cancel anytime | 14 days; 30-day money-back on web and Google Play purchases | First milestone free; 14-day money-back guarantee | Not publicly confirmed; offers a money-back guarantee | Not publicly confirmed |
| Approach | One connected daily plan: pain education, nervous system regulation, guided movement, flare support and tracking | Guided mind-body programme "to help you make sense of persistent pain" | Online pain management programme: pain science, mind-body, CBT and pacing | Coaching-led programme using nervous system techniques for chronic primary pain | Pain tracking and reports to share with your doctor, plus a pain guide and AI companion |
| Exercise and movement | Yes: 142 exercises with demo videos across 7 body regions | Not publicly confirmed (its exercises are reflection, relaxation, writing and somatic tracking) | Yes: physiotherapy exercises, yoga and breathing routines | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed (interactive exercises in its Pain Guide) |
| Flare-up support | Yes: Flare Support, with 33 flare-safe exercises | Yes: "Flare-Up Support" quick tools | Not publicly confirmed as a named feature (has guided "SOS" breathing and relaxation) | Not publicly confirmed | Not publicly confirmed |
| Clinician involvement | Built and overseen by a practising Sports Rehabilitator; no 1:1 clinician sessions inside the app | Live expert sessions with pain specialists; 1:1 care not publicly confirmed | Content designed by pain specialists, psychologists and physiotherapists | Pain recovery coaches with multidisciplinary clinical guidance and a medical advisor | Built with hospitals and clinicians; direct clinician care not publicly confirmed |
| Who can get it | Anyone, online (web app on phone, tablet or computer); built in Ireland | Direct to consumer; web, iOS and Android | Direct to consumer; phone, tablet or computer | Mainly US (self-pay, clinician referral or insurance); outside the US not publicly confirmed | Direct to consumer; iOS, Android and web |
Who each one suits
Bigger Than Pain
You want one structured plan that connects understanding, calming your system, movement for a specific body region and a plan for flares, rather than separate lessons or exercises.
Curable
You're drawn to a mind-body, lesson-and-audio approach to understanding pain, with tools for flare-ups, and movement isn't your main need.
Pathways
You'd rather pay once for a self-paced programme that covers pain science, mind-body tools and gentle exercise.
Lin Health
You're in the US and want ongoing human coaching, possibly covered by your insurer.
Manage My Pain
Your main need is tracking your pain and sharing clear reports with your doctor or pain clinic.
Offered through employers and health plans
These aren't sold directly, so they're not in the table. If your employer or insurer offers one, it may be worth checking.
- Hinge Health: Exercise therapy with physical therapists and health coaches, funded by employers and health plans (mainly US). Not sold directly.
- Sword Health: AI-guided exercise sessions with a Doctor of Physical Therapy, free to members through employers and health plans. Not sold directly.
How to choose
- Do you mainly want to understand your pain, track it, move more confidently, or all three together?
- Do you want lessons you work through, or day-to-day guidance on what to do next?
- Do you need help for a specific area, such as your back, neck or knee?
- What happens on a bad day: is there a plan for flare-ups?
- Is it available where you live, in your currency, and does the trial let you try it properly?
Common questions
What is the best app for chronic pain?
There isn't one best app for everyone. Curable suits people drawn to a mind-body, lesson-based approach. Pathways suits people who want to pay once for a self-paced programme. Lin Health suits people in the US who want human coaching. Manage My Pain suits people whose main need is tracking. Bigger Than Pain suits people who want one connected daily plan that brings education, nervous system regulation, movement and flare support together.
Which chronic pain apps are available in Ireland?
Curable, Pathways, Manage My Pain and Bigger Than Pain can all be bought directly. Bigger Than Pain was built in Ireland and is priced in euro. Lin Health is mainly US-based, and Hinge Health and Sword Health are offered through employers and health plans rather than sold directly.
Do chronic pain apps replace a physio or doctor?
No. These are self-management tools used alongside clinical care. If your pain is new, getting worse, or comes with symptoms that worry you, see your GP.
Is this comparison biased?
It's written by the team behind Bigger Than Pain, so read it with that in mind. We've used each company's own published information, linked our sources, and said "not publicly confirmed" rather than "no" wherever a company doesn't say.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)
- Bigger Than Pain: https://www.biggerthanpain.com/pricing
- Bigger Than Pain: https://www.biggerthanpain.com/whats-inside
- Curable: https://www.curablehealth.com
- Curable: https://www.curablehealth.com/pricing
- Curable: https://apps.apple.com/ie/app/curable-chronic-pain-recovery/id1325784379
- Pathways: https://www.pathways.health
- Pathways: https://www.pathways.health/pricing
- Lin Health: https://www.lin.health
- Lin Health: https://www.lin.health/pricing
- Manage My Pain: https://managemypainapp.com
- Manage My Pain: https://apps.apple.com/ie/app/manage-my-pain/id1444320523
- Hinge Health: https://www.hingehealth.com
- Sword Health: https://apps.apple.com/ie/app/sword-health-ai-care/id1468523447